Sunday , 29 March 2015
Breaking News

Kendale residents continue opposition to Pinewood plan

Kendale Homeowners Association (KHA) members will oppose the expansion of Pinewoods Acres School property when it appears before the Development Impact Committee for review and the Miami-Dade County Commissioners for approval.

More than 30 members of the association, meeting on Oct. 29, again voiced disapproval of a projected 2,000-student school in a planned two-story redevelopment of the former pre-K to sixth grade neighborhood school. Plans call for the creation of a K-12 school at 9500 SW 97 Ave. in the middle of a single-family neighborhood.

“We are asking as many members as possible to be present whenever this proposal comes up for consideration again,” said Guillermo Fernandez, HOA president, during the association’s bi-annual meeting at Ron Ehmann Recreation Center.

According to Dr. George Vital, coordinator for the county’s Development Impact Committee, when contacted on Oct. 31, “no revised planning has been received for the Pinewood application since original plans were submitted on Feb. 27, 2013.”

A submission of revised plans would next be considered by the Executive Committee of the DIC before recommendation to the county commission, he said.

Those plans raised heated objections from both Kendale and East Kendall Homeowner Associations, reviewed at length during a special community outreach meeting on Aug. 1 when revised plans were presented to over 200 attending.

Fernandez said Commissioner Xavier Suarez had been contacted to furnish details about county actions in advance to notify membership in time to appear at the committee and county commission meetings to register the protest.

KHA members additionally voiced disapproval of the FPL transmission lines running through Kendall area neighborhoods, an action that the organization is listed as a co-party for legal action against the project.

The association reelected its officers for 2014, including: Guillermo Fernandez, president; Robert Eloriaga, vice pesident; Migdy Moya, treasurer; Charlotte Kierman, recording secretary; Diane Lawrence, corresponding secretary; Ron Lieberman, and Hiram Rodriguez-Rosell, past presidents.

Committee chairs are Diane Lawrence, publicity; Jan Novatney, covenants and zoning; Maria Arteaga, social; Steven Jaramillo, membership; Richard Praschnik, public safety; Don McDermott, grounds, and Hiram Rodriguez-Rosell, golf course.

The association, which meets twice annually, represents approximately 1,450 single-family homeowners that live on both sides of SR 874 (Shula Expressway) between SW 88th Street (Kendall Drive) and SW 104th Street.

Go Back